Instagram is testing screenshot alerts for stories

Instagram is testing a feature that will show users when someone else takes a screenshot of their story. Users included in the test are getting a warning that the next time they take a screenshot of a friend’s story the friend will be able to see it, as shown below:

IG-screenshot-tridence

This new feature — the latest to be lifted from Snapchat — hasn’t been turned on for all users in order for Instagram to first gauge response. The Stories feature tells you who has watched your story when you tap on the “seen by” area in the bottom left corner. With this new feature, a circle shutter icon will display next to the name of the account that has screen grabbed your content. Story owners otherwise won’t be alerted when someone takes a screenshot — they can only tell after manually checking the “seen by” list. Instagram is likely testing how people respond to the new notices and may decide to never roll out the feature to all users.

There are workarounds to avoid being detected though, as some Twitter users have pointed out — you can set your phone to airplane mode and then screenshot, or you can view the Instagram story via a web browser on desktop and safely screenshot from there. But seriously, don’t be a feature creeper.

Advertisements

About Tridence

Social Media Gurus | Web Design & Development Experts | Digital Marketing Connoisseur. We specialize in helping Entrepreneurs, Businesses and Non-Profits create unique brands to captivate, engage and convert customers. Our Responsive Websites and Digital strategies help guide businesses small and large to dominate your market. We are a proven, award-winning company with exceptional talent that delivers measurable results.
This entry was posted in Blogs, social media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s